About the Department

About the Department


The Department of Physiological Sciences came into existence in 1977 when the Division of Human Biology and Behaviourunder the headship of Prof T.A.I Grillowas transformed into two Departments in the process of formation 12 Departments for the Faculty of Health Sciences. Foundation members of staff of Physiological Sciences include Prof. A.O. Durotoye (Head), Prof. K. Cooper, Dr. S.A. Grillo, Dr. A. Odumosu, Mr. W. Osula, Mr. S.A. Peter, Mr. S.A. Adekunle, Dr. (Mrs) G.F. Daramola, Mr. J.O. Ariwodola,Mr. O.A. Ukponmwan,Mrs. C.O. Anderson and Mr. D.N. Ogbomo. Other members of staff at inceptions of the Department were; Dr. P.C. Egbe, Dr. O.E. Okediji, Mr. L.O. Lawal, Mr. J.O. Ogundipe, Mr. E.A. Akinbolusere, Mr. C.A. Ola, Mr. J. Oyebanji, Mr. V. Osakwe, Mr. S. Lawal, Mr. K. Ogunnote, Mrs. V.O. Soyebo, Mrs. T. Olatoye, Mrs. R.O. Adeboye, Mr. T. Ogundoyin, Mr. F. Abidoye, Mr. J. Adeleke, Mr. S. Akinwumi, Mr. Ogundipe, Mrs. Sariwoyo and Dr. Akpan. In 2011, the Department of Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics was carved out of Physiological Sciences.


Between 1977-2019, the Department has been under the leadership of fourteen (14) Heads of Department. These include; Prof. A. O. A. Durotoye (1977-1978), Dr. S.A. Grillo (1978-1981), Dr. P.C. Egbe (1981-1983), Dr. (Mrs).G.F. Daramola(1983-1984;& 1996-2001), Prof. F. Dosekun (1984-1985), Dr. E.O. Okediji (1985-1989), Prof. O.E. Ukponmwan (1989-1993;&2005-2009), Dr. I.O .Adeosun (1993-1996), Prof. M.A. Durosimi (2001-2002), Prof. R.A. Elegbe (2002-2004), Dr. B.I. Kukoyi (2004-2005), Dr. A. O. Ayoka (2009-2013), Dr. R.O. Akomolafe (2013-2015), Dr. O. Ogunlade (2015-2017) and Dr. O.S. Akinsomisoye (2017 till date).



The Department of Physiological Sciences is one of the Departments in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.  She has over the years been involved in the teaching of Medical, Dental, Nursing and Physiotherapy students. The Department also trains Postgraduate (Masters and Doctorate) students in order to produce more qualified personnel in the field of Human Physiology. She also runs a course for Medical Physics postgraduate students.  The Department is involved with teaching Part-Time Bachelor of Nursing Science students in a programme coordinated by the Centre for Distance Learning of the University. The Department also has a Cardiovascularlaboratory where ECG is being done and Blood Physiology laboratory where blood grouping and genotype are carried out.




The Department of Physiological Sciences is involved in Research in the following areas

  • Blood Physiology
  • Cardiovascular Physiology
  • Endocrine Physiology
  • Gastrointestinal Physiology
  • Neurophysiology
  • Renal Physiology
  • Reproductive Physiology